NH7 Weekender

Early this month I got the chance to visit the 3-day fiesta that was NH7 weekender in Pune. Never have I seen the world in this way. I finally learnt on reaching there, what they meant when they called it the’Happiest Music Festival’. The energy and vibes were crazy. And so were the people. The first day began with us reaching in time to watch The Clameens and Baiju Dharmajan Syndicate. We also witnessed the amazing performance by Dualist Enquiry, the man’s hands were like rubber! But my favourite was definitely Prateek Kuhad, for which I stood in the first row and stared at him like a child lost in love. Alas, he didn’t sing my favourite song “Raat Raazi” but did sing my second favourite “oh love”. There were also amazing bands like Dhruv Voyage and Erotic Market. We just sat on the grass and enjoyed the shows. It was a very chill day. Like very very chill.

The second day I reached before my friends. I stood and waited in the first row for Rodrigo y Gabriela’s show and was it worth it! Except for some drunk French people who almost flung a burning cigarette butt at me, all was fine. A girl, now a friend, came to my rescue, and Nidhi and me spent the rest of the day together. Man! She was some party-hopper! We ran from one venue to another, always in the first or the second row, it was fabulous. Vishal Dadlani’s tribute to Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, ft. Neeti Mohan, Harshdeep Kaur, Shekhar Ravjiani and others was an absolute delight. We unfortunately missed Mark Ronson and Nucleya, but there were no regrets! 🙂

The highlight for the third day was the one and only A. R. Rahman. I might have shed a few tears and there were obvious bouts of goosebumps whenever he took over the stage. From E.D.M. to folk to Reggae, there was not a single genre he didn’t play that night. There were moments when I would just close my eyes and sway to the music and his voice, oblivious of the crowd and I finally understood what they say, when they say that Music is food for the soul!

Leave a Reply

