Wabi Sabi

A Japanese world view or aesthetic centred on the existence of transience and imperfection.

There’s so much in the world to know and yet instead of using our time to discover all these beautiful things, we instead waste it in mindless activities. The most mindless of them being war and violence. Easier said than done, I know. But we are allowed to voice our opinions at all times aren’t we.

Coming back to the world. I am a big fan of Haruki Murakami and Kazuo Ishiguro, as well as Japanese Mangas. At the same time I have seen a documentary called Sans Soleil (which means Sunless in French). I really wonder what kind of a world it really is. It seems too far to relate to at any level. One of the items in my bucket list is thus a trip to Japan.

This is just a random rant about things unrelated. So I am going to a book I read long back – ‘An artist of the floating world’ by Kazuo Ishiguro. I always wondered what the world was. Was it like the floating island of Laputa of Gulliver’s Travels or something else altogether. Turned out it was the famous woodblock prints of Japan known as ‘Ukiyo’ or ‘pictures of the floating world’. This culture developed in the red light district of modern day Tokyo in the days when it was called Edo and thus it often depicted scenes of kabuki actors, prostitutes (inspiration for modern day hentai?), geishas, samurais, etc. Funny how art begins at improbable places.

So, here was a trailer to my bucket list and a preview of my dreams of being a traveller to satiate my curiosity. Sayonara.

An example

A painting from that era

2 comments

Leave a Reply

